Deep Calls to Deep

A piece I read at ikonNYC‘s “Alter Call” event on Sunday, Feb 17.

 

“Twenty-six attempts preceded the present genesis,

all of which were destined to fail.

The world of man has arisen out of the chaotic heart

of the preceding debris; he too is exposed

to the risk of failure, and the return to nothing.

‘Let us hope it works’

exclaimed God as he created the world,

and this hope,

which has accompanied the subsequent history

of the world and mankind, has emphasized

right from the outset that history is

branded with the mark of radical uncertainty.”
 

Twenty-six attempts preceded my present beliefs,

all of which were destined to fail.

The words of men spoken to my chaotic heart

at youth group rallies and seminaries;

I too am exposed

to the risk of failure, and the return to nothing.

‘I hope it works this time’

I exclaimed as I accepted the world I was given,

and this resignation,

which has accompanied my subsequent history,

has emphasized

right from the outset that my history is

branded with the mark of other’s belief.
 

Twenty-six attempts preceded my present doubts,

all of which were destined to fail.

The words of men questioned in my chaotic heart

late at night, doubting God’s existence;

I too am exposed

to the risk of safety, and the return to knowing.

‘I hope this works’

I exclaimedas I rejected

the world I was given,

and this rejection,

which has accompanied my subsequent history,

has emphasized

right from the outset that my history is

branded with the mark of radical doubt.
 

Twenty-six attempts preceded my present faith,

all of which were destined to fail.

The call of God has arisen in my chaotic heart

in silent insistence;

I too am exposed

to the risk of responding

to the call from nowhere, from nothing.

‘Yes! Let us hope it works!’

I exclaimed to God as he altered my world,

and this call,

which has accompanied my subsequent history,

has emphasized

right from the outset that my history is

branded with the mark of radical faith.
 

“Twenty-six attempts preceded the present genesis,

all of which were destined to fail.

The world of man has arisen out of the chaotic heart

of the preceding debris; he too is exposed

to the risk of failure, and the return to nothing.

‘Let us hope it works’

exclaimed God as he created the world,

and this hope,

which has accompanied the subsequent history

of the world and mankind, has emphasized

right from the outset that history is

branded with the mark of radical uncertainty.”

(From the Talmud)
Life Saving Patrol c1893 Edward Moran

Life Saving Patrol c1893 Edward Moran

Leave a Reply

